You are using an outdated browser. This website is better viewed on Google Chrome, Edge, Firefox or Safari.
Close Don't show again

Patient Safety

Patient Safety

Effective patient safety measures include certification against safe practice standards, the establishment of a governance (monitoring) and credentialing system and open incident reporting and review are all hallmarks of patient focused care.


Evolution Healthcare is proud to be accredited against both national health standards and international best practice business standards.  This ensures an organisational wide focus on quality and excellence.

Evolution undertakes certification against the following standards:

New Zealand Health and Disability Services Standards (HDSS) – NZS 8134:2021 Ngā Paerewa Health and disability services standard for our hospitals and day surgeries.

The HDSS enable consumers to be clear about their rights and providers to be clear about their responsibilities for safe outcomes.  The standard ensures consumers receive safe and timely services and the services are appropriate and provided in an efficient manner within a clean and safe environment. Additional mandatory standards include restraint minimization and safe practice and infection prevention and control.

New Zealand Allied Health Services Sector Standard NZS 8171:2005 for our Allied health business, including our physiotherapy and related services

This standard is designed to establish consistent, safe, and reasonable levels of care for consumers of services provided by allied health professionals. Additionally, it provides a consistent framework for safety and continuous improvement of these services. The standard aligns with the requirements of NZS 8134 Health and Disability Sector standards, however focuses on the specific needs of consumers of services provided by allied health professionals.

Te Kāhui Kāhu  level 4 accreditation (Social Services Accreditation) for our Allied Health Business

These standards are provided by the New Zealand Government for the accreditation of providers funded by government to deliver social services. Accreditation to these standards demonstrates an organisation can deliver safe, quality services to their community and government agencies.

ISO 9000:2015 Quality Management Systems (QMS).

ISO (International Organization for Standardisation) is a worldwide federation of national standard bodies. Adoption of the QMS is a strategic decision for an organization that can help improve its overall performance and provide a sound basis for sustainable development initiatives.

The potential benefits are:

  • Ability to consistently provide products and service that meet customer and applicable statutory and regulatory requirements
  • Facilitating opportunity to enhance customer satisfaction
  • Addressing risks and opportunities
  • Ability to demonstrate conformity

Clinical Governance

At Evolution Healthcare we strive for an environment which fosters excellence in clinical care. Accordingly, our Clinical Governance framework ensures our hospitals and Health and Wellbeing Services are accountable for the quality of our service and the standards of care provided. Processes and best practice are promoted and reviewed through Hospital Medical Advisory Committees (“HMAC”) at each of our hospitals and clinical Governance Forums at our Health and Wellbeing Services. These committees support us and our practitioners holding clinical performance standards.

Each HMAC acts as a consultative and advisory body to the hospital’s General Manager, supporting the General Manager in overseeing medical and clinical standards within the hospital by ensuring an environment of best practice and a positive workplace culture that reflects the mission and values of Evolution Healthcare.

The HMACs and Clinical Governance Forums are the formal organisational structure through which the collective views of the credentialed medical practitioners and allied health clinicians of the hospital and Health and Wellbeing Service and shall be formulated and communicated.

Clinical Governance also includes regular reviews of clinical and health data along with Mortality and Morbidity reviews which are held quarterly.

Each HMAC and clinical governance committee has a documented Terms of Reference.

Our Hospitals hold a PQAA (Protected Quality Assurance Activity) status issued by the Health Minister under the Health Practitioners Competency Assurance Act 2003.